Reflections on Feet

image

I woke up this morning feeling surprisingly fresh. Some 20 somethings, behaving exactly as I had at that age, had the audacity to disturb my sleep, outrageous! I had intended to wake up and watch the sun rise, however waking up and seeing the rays of light streaking through the glass obviously negated this well intended plan.

I had a look at my feet, gave them a rub and scrunched my toes, they felt fine and the soles of my feet had cooled down and were no longer radiating heat. I had given them a pretty good flogging the previous day and they were fine. I jumped out of bed with a flurry, my feet landed on the ground and so did the rest of me as my legs crumpled beneath me. My calves were on fire, as I sat dumbfounded on the floor the dog just looked at me in disbelief, then reached out to take advantage of the situation and give my ear a good cleaning.

I have noticed that when walking barefoot I tend to walk on my toes alot more, this activates different muscles in your calves and even around your hips. Yesterdays efforts were no problem for my bare feet, the underutilised calf muscles were obviously a bit more unhappy.

Part of the reason why I am a barefoot afficiando is that I have flat feet. When I was small podiatrists had poked and prodded my feet, “arch support” was the catch cry when buying shoes. I realised when I got older, principly when I had moved out of home and didn’t have my Mum telling me to put on shoes before I went outside, that going barefoot and walking on your toes was the best method to strengthen ones arches. Arch supports are just crutches, they dont do anything to modify the foot and its supporting structures.

This was but one path to enlightenment on the barefoot road. Another moment occurred whilst I was shopping at Castle Towers in Sydneys north west. I was happily gallivanting through said shopping centre when I was approached by security, “excuse me sir you don’t have any shoes on”. I stopped and considered this statement that was predicated by a question.

“No, no I don’t”
“Well you need to have shoes on when your in the centre”
Straight off the bat, I retort “it’s against my religuous beliefs to wear shoes”, boom, case closed. I thought this would be enough to dissuade my interrogator, afterall it’s not worth getting involved in the “cans” and “cants” of what religous nutters can and cant do.
This wiley old security guard had obviously dealtvwith his share of wise guys “Oh yeah, what religion is that?”
“Ummmmmm Aghhhhhhhh”
“Listen mate, if you go and buy a pair of shoes you can stay, otherwise im going to have to ask you to leave.”
This infuriated me, who was this guy with his beurecatic rules, telling me basically that my barefeet were unsafe, but there were store provided products available at a price so that I could continue with my shopping experience. This is society saying I need to consume products ie shoes, but in reality if im happy in barefeet why should anyone else care.

My journey is hopefully going to be more than just rantings about barefeet. The barefeet are just the method of locomotion the real story will be found in my next post, A Tale of Six Legs.

Leave a Reply

