A Week of Barefeet

image

So we found ourselves in Avoca again, a sense of deja vu lingered, everything was the same as last week, but something was different. It was me I felt different, in just one week of eating a completely unprocessed, all natural, localy grown, organic diet and pushing out a few barefoot kilometres, I was feeling incredible. I bounced down the beach with the dog circling and barking impatiently for the ball to be thrown. I had decided I wanted to do the same route as the previous week to compare how I felt.

I set off down the beach, I finally tossed the ball into the ocean to placate the irate dog, the dog quickly analysed the situation, decided the surf was at such a level that a four legged rescue of the ball was possible  and leapt heroically into the crashing waves to rescue the ball. She returned riding a wave into the shore, despetately lunging for traction as the water sucked her back out, until suddenly she is released from the waters grasp and she explodes up the beach with the ball in her mouth.

I hopped and skipped over the rocky outcrop of the headland, last week seemed alot trickier than this week. My feet were more nimble on the uneven surfaces, I even stopped to peer into rock pools, as crabs scurried and oysters clamped their mouths tight. A brilliant flashback of a young me doing exactly this on summer holiday in Port Macquarie suddenly struck me, until the dog barking at the plumes of spray from the water hitting the rocks snapped me into the moment, it was a fair swim back to the beach from where we were and I really didn’t feel like rescuing the dog today so we turned to march up and over the headland to Terrigal.

I had scooped up some dried sea weed on the rocks and now took a small piece and nibbled enquisitively. It tasted like the same stuff as the sushi wraps, I think it was kelp. I tore off a bit more, tossed the bulk of it and nibbled at my seaweed snack as I walked, it was actually pretty nice. I was also looking forward to some mulberries that I had spied last week but they hadn’t been ripe. This week a feast of juicy fruits presented itself for the picking. The dog didn’t know what I was on about as I waxed lyrical about my tasty find.

I covered the distance of the 11km’s this week in 3 hours and my feet were still feeling 100% so I decided “stough it, I’m going to keep going to Copacabana”. This was only going to be another 7km round trip, “piece of piss” I thought. It was fine on the feet, but I am feeling a bit knackered after 5 hours and 18km’s of barefoot walking.

I am going to try and stick to the same regimen this week, I don’t want to push things as I’m enjoying my body feeling good. If your pushing hard your body tells you by getting sore. So far my body hasn’t been saying anything bad so I reckon that means I can keep on doing what I’ve been doing.

Leave a Reply

